4 badminton tournament you must follow being a true fan.

Badminton is like Ballet dancing and badminton tournaments are the best stage to show your skills. It requires a lot of control, strength, mind play and measured movement.

Badminton came be traced back over 2000 years ago to games the ancient Greeks played. The modern game of badminton began in 1870 when guests at Duke of Beaufort’s Badminton House in Gloucestershire played it at a lawn party. Badminton developed from a children’s game known as battledore and shuttlecock in which players batted a cork filled with feathers back and forth in the air using paddles, the idea being to keep it in the air the longest period of time possible.

What started as a lawn party game has become a fiercely competitive sport for professionals playing for money. The sport is getting more popular and the IBF which started with only nine members has now over 150 members.

Top 4 badminton tournaments that you must watch if call yourself a badminton fan. 

  • BWF Super Series

The BWF Super Series, launched on December 14, 2006 and implemented in 2007, is a series of elite badminton tournaments, sanctioned by Badminton World Federation. A Super Series tournament offers minimum total prize money of USD$200,000.

At the end of the Super Series circuit, top eight players/pairs in the Super Series standing of each discipline, with the maximum of two players/pairs from the same member association, are required to play in a final tournament known as the Super Series Masters Finals. It will offer minimum total prize money of USD$500,000.

badminton tournaments

  • All England Open Badminton Championships

The All England Open Badminton Championships, or simply All England, is one of the world’s oldest and most prestigious badminton tournaments. Played annually, it developed after the success of the world’s first badminton tournament held in Guildford in 1898.

badminton tournaments

  • Premier Badminton League

Premier Badminton League is a franchise league, managed and commercially owned by the Badminton Association of India. It was named Indian Badminton League (IBL) when founded in 2013 then later rechristened to Premier Badminton League before the start of 2nd Season in 2016. The second season of this league 2016 Premier Badminton League happens from January 2nd – January 17th.

badminton tournaments

  • Pan Am Badminton Championships

The Pan Am Badminton Championships is a tournament organized since 1977 by the Badminton Pan Am (BPA) to crown the best badminton players in the Americas. The tournament was held every two years from 1977 till 2007.

Now it is organized annually except once every four years when the Pan Am Games multi-sports event is held. Badminton is part of the Pan Am Games since 1995. The Pan Am Badminton Championships have a Grand Prix status.

badminton tournaments

Do you know any important or exciting tournament that we might have missed out. Do share with us and we shall surely include it in our blog. 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.